RTO Codes for RTOs in India

RTO codes are a set of three-letter codes assigned to the various Regional Transport Offices (RTOs) in India. These codes are used to identify the RTO in charge of registering a particular vehicle. The RTO codes are significant for the management and maintenance of records and transactions related to vehicles in India.

The RTO codes for different states and union territories in India vary, and the vehicles registered in the respective state will follow the same RTO code as their region. For example, if you are in Andhra Pradesh, your vehicle will carry the RTO code ‘AP’, and if you are in Delhi, your vehicle will carry the RTO code ‘DL’.


Union Territory/State RTO Code Union Territory/State RTO Code
Andhra Pradesh AP Assam AS
Arunachal Pradesh AR Bihar BR
Andaman and Nicobar Islands AN Chandigarh CH
Chhattisgarh CG Gujarat GJ
Dadra and Nagar Haveli DN Daman and Diu DD
Goa GA Haryana HR
Himachal Pradesh HP Jharkhand JH
Jammu and Kashmir JK Karnataka KA
Kerala KL Maharashtra MH
Madhya Pradesh MP Manipur MN
Meghalaya ML Mizoram MZ
Lakshadweep LD National Capital Territory of Delhi DL
Nagaland NL Puducherry PY
Odisha OD Punjab PB
Sikkim SK Rajasthan RJ
Tamil Nadu TN Tripura TR
Uttarkhand UK Uttar Pradesh UP


In conclusion, RTO codes are a crucial aspect of the Indian transportation system, as they help in keeping track of vehicles in the country. These codes play a critical role in maintaining the records and transactions related to vehicles and their owners, making it easier for the RTOs to carry out their functions effectively.